The administrative top management of Amsterdam UMC is formed by a Board of Directors and a Supervisory Board. The Executive Board determines the strategic policy: the course of the institution. The Supervisory Board has a monitoring function.

Board of Directors

Hans van Goudoever, president

Hans van Goudoever studied medicine at Erasmus University in Rotterdam. He specialized as a pediatrician and neonatologist at Sophia Children's Hospital, with an excursion for postdoctoral training to Houston Texas. In 2004, he became head of the Neonatology Department at Sophia Children's Hospital. In 2010, he came to Amsterdam, where he became head of the Departments of Pediatrics VUmc and AMC. Two years later, so well before the administrative merger of AMC and VUmc in 2018, he became chair of the Women's Child division at both locations. On 1 January 2022, Hans was appointed vice-chairman of the board of directors and dean of the Faculty of Medicine UvA.

Saskia Peerdeman, member and dean of the Faculty of Medicine at VU

Saskia Peerdeman studied Medicine at Utrecht University and subsequently trained as a neurosurgeon. Since 2005, she has been affiliated as a staff member in Neurosurgery at VUmc and has also worked in various clinics in the region. Since 2018, Peerdeman has been working at both locations of Amsterdam UMC. In addition to her clinical duties, Peerdeman has been a professor at the Vrije Universiteit (VU) in the field of professional development since 2015 and in 2018, she also became a professor at the University of Amsterdam (UvA). Since then, she has also served as vice-dean of Education and Training. At the administrative level, Peerdeman has held various local, national and international positions within her field, medical education and specialist medical training. She continues to be active as a neurosurgeon alongside her role as a member of the Board of Directors of Amsterdam UMC.

Karen Kruijthof, member

Karen Kruijthof studied medicine and public administration at the VU. She obtained her doctorate with a thesis on research into the control of medical specialists in Dutch hospitals. The AMC was involved in this research. After two years of clinical practice, she held policy and management positions in various hospitals. As a member of the three-member board of directors of Rotterdam's Franciscus Gasthuis and Schiedam's Vlietland Hospital, she was intensively involved in the merger between the two institutions. On February 14, 2019, Karen was appointed as a member of the board of directors. In the Board of Directors, Karen is concerned with the shifts between the two locations, and with the integration processes that the amalgamation of departments and services entails. The 'human side' has her special attention.

Yvo Roos, member and dean of the Faculty of Medicine at UvA

Yvonne Koppelman, member

Mr. O.G.A. (Orian) van der Beek, secretary of the board of directors

The Board of Directors is supported in its daily work by the Department of Administrative and Legal Affairs.

Contact details Board of Directors Amsterdam UMC, location VUmc

mr. O.G.A. van der Beek, secretary
De Boelelaan 1117
1081 HV Amsterdam
T: 020 44 425 12

Supervisory Board

  • W.J. (Wim) Kuijken, chairman of the Supervisory Board, member of the Remuneration and Nomination Advisory Committee
  • A.J.M. (Anita) Nijboer, vice-chairman of the supervisory board, chairman of the Remuneration and Nomination Advisory Committee, member of the Audit and Housing Committee
  • W.F. (Willy) de Mooij, member audit committee
  • Dr. M. (Jet) Bussemaker, member of Core Task Force Quality and Safety Committee
  • Prof. P.A.B.M. (Paul) Smits, chairman of the Core Task Force Quality and Safety Committee, contact person for the AMC and VUmc Client Council
  • M.J.H. (Guillaume) Jetten, chairman Audit Committee
  • Prof. M.P. (Marja) van Dieijen, member of the Core Task Force Quality and Safety Committee